Black+Decker 20V MAX 10" Chainsaw Kit vs Sun Joe 24V iONMAX 10" Chainsaw Kit

Black+Decker 20V MAX 10" Chainsaw Kit

Black+Decker / Battery

Black+Decker 20V MAX 10" Chainsaw Kit

30cc class (by bar)

~$149

Check price on Amazon
Sun Joe 24V iONMAX 10" Chainsaw Kit

Sun Joe / Battery

Sun Joe 24V iONMAX 10" Chainsaw Kit

30cc class (by bar)

~$130

See it at Sun Joe

The Sun Joe 24V iONMAX 10" Chainsaw Kit costs about $19 less.

SpecBlack+Decker 20V MAX 10" Chainsaw KitSun Joe 24V iONMAX 10" Chainsaw Kit
Approx. price~$149kit with one 20V MAX 2.0Ah battery and charger~$130kit with 24V 4.0Ah battery and charger; shopjoe.com sale price, $179.99 regular
Engine class30cc classplaced by shipped bar length30cc classplaced by shipped bar length
Power typeBatteryBattery
Use caseHomeownerHomeowner
Voltage20 V24 V
Kit battery2 Ah4 Ah
Bar length10 in10 in
Single-pass cutabout 8 inabout 8 in
Bar range10 in10 in
Chain3/8" low-profile pitch / .043" gauge, 40 DLSun Joe does not publish pitch or gauge; replacement bar SWJ-10BAR is shared with the SWJ803E and SWJ807E
Weight9.1 lbmanufacturer-listed weight; B+D does not state whether the battery is included9.3 lbmanufacturer-listed weight; Sun Joe does not state whether the battery is included
Warranty2-year limited2-year manufacturer

Tinted cells mark the better figure on that row alone: more engine, longer bar, lighter, cheaper. A lighter weight is only a win on the same basis.

What owners like and complain about

Black+Decker 20V MAX 10" Chainsaw Kit

  • Cheapest entry to a full-size-handle battery chainsaw from a national brand
  • Shares 20V POWERCONNECT packs with the rest of B+D's cordless line
  • Tool-free chain tensioning
  • Tool-only LCS1020B exists at $109 for owners with packs
  • Sold and warrantied direct by B+D
  • One 2.0Ah pack is the whole energy budget — plan on a second battery, not a longer session
  • 9.1 lb listed for only 8 inches of cut is a poor weight-to-capability trade
  • Brushed motor, so it gives up runtime and power to brushless saws at the same price
  • B+D does not state whether its weight figure includes the battery
  • No bar options — 10 inches is all it will ever be

Sun Joe 24V iONMAX 10" Chainsaw Kit

  • 4.0Ah pack is double what most 10-inch kits include
  • Under two hours to a full charge
  • Sun Joe publishes a real maximum cut diameter and a recommended one, which most brands do not
  • Brushless 600W motor at a $130 sale price
  • Replacement bar is a $15 stock part shared with Sun Joe's pole saws
  • 9.3 lb for a 10-inch bar — three pounds over Worx's equivalent
  • Sun Joe publishes no chain pitch or gauge, so sourcing loops means matching the bar part number
  • 24V nominal is really 21.6V under load, and it shows in dense wood
  • 2-year warranty, the shortest in this group
  • The $130 price is a sale against a $179.99 list, so it will not always be there