Black+Decker 40V MAX 12" Chainsaw Kit

Black+Decker / Battery / Homeowner

Black+Decker 40V MAX 12" Chainsaw Kit

30cc class (by bar)
40V
2 Ah pack
12 in
cuts to about 10 in
11.1 lb
manufacturer-listed weight; B+D does not state whether the battery is included
~$199
approx., kit with one 40V MAX 2.0Ah battery and charger
Check price on Amazon

We may earn a commission. Price and availability on Amazon's site may differ.

Over 60 cuts through 4x4 pine on one 2.0Ah charge is the only performance figure B+D publishes for the LCS1240, and it is a fair one to judge it by: this is a saw sized for dimensional lumber and fallen limbs, not for bucking. It runs the same 12-inch, 45-drive-link, .043-gauge bar and chain as the DeWalt DCCS620 and Craftsman CMCCS620 — the three are chain-interchangeable, which makes loops easy to source despite the narrow gauge. The catch is the platform. B+D's 40V MAX line has shrunk to a handful of tools, so unlike the 20V packs this battery has almost nothing else to power, and at $199 you are paying battery-plus-saw for a platform with no second act. The 11.1 lb listed weight is also heavy against 12-inch brushless rivals.

Best for: Someone who wants one simple battery saw for limbs and lumber and will not buy other cordless yard tools.

Specifications

Engine class
30cc class (placed by shipped bar length)
Single-pass cut
about 10 in (bar minus 2)
Chain
3/8" low-profile pitch / .043" gauge, 45 DL (Oregon R45 equivalent)
Weight
11.1 lb, manufacturer-listed weight; B+D does not state whether the battery is included
Power type
Battery
Use case
Homeowner
Warranty
2-year limited
Model
LCS1240

Manufacturer figures except the engine class and single-pass cut, which are derived here. What each spec means

  • 60+ 4x4 pine cuts per charge
  • Shares chains with DCCS620
  • Dead-end 40V platform

Where it is strong

  • Chain and bar interchange with DeWalt DCCS620 and Craftsman CMCCS620, so loops are everywhere
  • 60-plus 4x4 cuts per charge is a published, checkable figure — rare in this price class
  • Automatic bar-and-chain oiling and tool-free tensioning
  • 40V gives it noticeably more bite than B+D's 20V 10-inch saw
  • Complete kit at $199 with no separate battery purchase

Where it falls short

  • B+D's 40V MAX line has few other tools, so the pack is close to single-purpose
  • 11.1 lb listed is heavy for a 12-inch bar; several brushless 14-inch saws weigh less
  • Brushed motor and a single 2.0Ah pack cap sustained cutting
  • No tool-only SKU sold on B+D's own site, so owners cannot buy just the saw
  • B+D does not state whether the listed weight includes the battery

Written from the spec sheet and the maker's documentation; owner reports for this model were too thin to summarize.

Compare the Black+Decker 40V MAX 12" Chainsaw Kit

Nearest alternatives

More from Black+Decker
Black+Decker 20V MAX 10" Chainsaw Kit

Black+Decker / Battery

~$149

Black+Decker 20V MAX 10" Chainsaw Kit

30cc class (by bar)
20V
pack
10 in
bar
9.1 lb
as sold

Homeowners already on B+D 20V who need a pruning-and-storm-debris saw and will never cut a log.

Homeowner
Worx Nitro 20V 12" Brushless Chainsaw Kit

Worx / Battery

~$170

Worx Nitro 20V 12" Brushless Chainsaw Kit

30cc class (by bar)
20V
pack
12 in
bar
8.6 lb
as sold

Power Share owners who want one light brushless saw for limbs and small logs and will not buy a two-battery tool.

Homeowner

Sources for this entry