Black+Decker 20V MAX 10" Chainsaw Kit vs Black+Decker 40V MAX 12" Chainsaw Kit
Tinted cells mark the better figure on that row alone: more engine, longer bar, lighter, cheaper. A lighter weight is only a win on the same basis.
What owners like and complain about
Black+Decker 20V MAX 10" Chainsaw Kit
- Cheapest entry to a full-size-handle battery chainsaw from a national brand
- Shares 20V POWERCONNECT packs with the rest of B+D's cordless line
- Tool-free chain tensioning
- Tool-only LCS1020B exists at $109 for owners with packs
- Sold and warrantied direct by B+D
- One 2.0Ah pack is the whole energy budget — plan on a second battery, not a longer session
- 9.1 lb listed for only 8 inches of cut is a poor weight-to-capability trade
- Brushed motor, so it gives up runtime and power to brushless saws at the same price
- B+D does not state whether its weight figure includes the battery
- No bar options — 10 inches is all it will ever be
Black+Decker 40V MAX 12" Chainsaw Kit
- Chain and bar interchange with DeWalt DCCS620 and Craftsman CMCCS620, so loops are everywhere
- 60-plus 4x4 cuts per charge is a published, checkable figure — rare in this price class
- Automatic bar-and-chain oiling and tool-free tensioning
- 40V gives it noticeably more bite than B+D's 20V 10-inch saw
- Complete kit at $199 with no separate battery purchase
- B+D's 40V MAX line has few other tools, so the pack is close to single-purpose
- 11.1 lb listed is heavy for a 12-inch bar; several brushless 14-inch saws weigh less
- Brushed motor and a single 2.0Ah pack cap sustained cutting
- No tool-only SKU sold on B+D's own site, so owners cannot buy just the saw
- B+D does not state whether the listed weight includes the battery

