Sun Joe 24V iONMAX 10" Chainsaw Kit

Sun Joe / Battery / Homeowner

Sun Joe 24V iONMAX 10" Chainsaw Kit

30cc class (by bar)
24V
4 Ah pack
10 in
cuts to about 8 in
9.3 lb
manufacturer-listed weight; Sun Joe does not state whether the battery is included
~$130
approx., kit with 24V 4.0Ah battery and charger; shopjoe.com sale price, $179.99 regular
See it at Sun Joe

Price and availability on Sun Joe's site may differ.

Sun Joe is honest about this saw in a way the category usually is not: it rates the 10-inch bar for 9.5 inches maximum and recommends 8.5, and prints both. A 600W brushless motor on a 24V nominal-21.6V pack is a modest machine, and at 9.3 lb it is three pounds heavier than Worx's 6.2 lb 10-incher for the same job. What it has is the 4.0Ah pack, double the energy of most 10-inch kits, and a charger that refills it in under two hours. It is also, as of now, the only handheld chainsaw Sun Joe's own store actually has in stock — the 18-inch SWJ701E, the 16-inch SWJ700E and the 48V 24V-X2-CS16 all show unavailable, which makes this the whole Sun Joe chainsaw line in practice.

Best for: Light pruning and storm debris on a budget, for someone who wants a bigger battery rather than a lighter saw.

Specifications

Engine class
30cc class (placed by shipped bar length)
Single-pass cut
about 8 in (bar minus 2)
Chain
Sun Joe does not publish pitch or gauge; replacement bar SWJ-10BAR is shared with the SWJ803E and SWJ807E
Weight
9.3 lb, manufacturer-listed weight; Sun Joe does not state whether the battery is included
Power type
Battery
Use case
Homeowner
Warranty
2-year manufacturer
Model
24V-10CS-GRN

Manufacturer figures except the engine class and single-pass cut, which are derived here. What each spec means

  • 4.0Ah pack in a 10-in kit
  • Rated 9.5 in max cut
  • Only Sun Joe saw in stock

Where it is strong

  • 4.0Ah pack is double what most 10-inch kits include
  • Under two hours to a full charge
  • Sun Joe publishes a real maximum cut diameter and a recommended one, which most brands do not
  • Brushless 600W motor at a $130 sale price
  • Replacement bar is a $15 stock part shared with Sun Joe's pole saws

Where it falls short

  • 9.3 lb for a 10-inch bar — three pounds over Worx's equivalent
  • Sun Joe publishes no chain pitch or gauge, so sourcing loops means matching the bar part number
  • 24V nominal is really 21.6V under load, and it shows in dense wood
  • 2-year warranty, the shortest in this group
  • The $130 price is a sale against a $179.99 list, so it will not always be there

Written from the spec sheet and the maker's documentation; owner reports for this model were too thin to summarize.

Compare the Sun Joe 24V iONMAX 10" Chainsaw Kit

Nearest alternatives

More from Sun Joe
Black+Decker 20V MAX 10" Chainsaw Kit

Black+Decker / Battery

~$149

Black+Decker 20V MAX 10" Chainsaw Kit

30cc class (by bar)
20V
pack
10 in
bar
9.1 lb
as sold

Homeowners already on B+D 20V who need a pruning-and-storm-debris saw and will never cut a log.

Homeowner
Worx 20V Power Share 10" Chainsaw Kit

Worx / Battery

~$150

Worx 20V Power Share 10" Chainsaw Kit

30cc class (by bar)
20V
pack
10 in
bar
6.2 lb
as sold

Pruning and overhead limb work where saw weight decides how long you last, not how fast you cut.

Homeowner
Greenworks 24V 10" Chainsaw Kit

Greenworks / Battery

~$90

Greenworks 24V 10" Chainsaw Kit

30cc class (by bar)
24V
pack
10 in
bar
4.5 lb
bare

Anyone who needs a powered pruning saw for brush and fallen limbs and will never fell a tree with it.

Homeowner

Sources for this entry