Black+Decker 20V MAX 10" Chainsaw Kit

Black+Decker / Battery / Homeowner

Black+Decker 20V MAX 10" Chainsaw Kit

30cc class (by bar)
20V
2 Ah pack
10 in
cuts to about 8 in
9.1 lb
manufacturer-listed weight; B+D does not state whether the battery is included
~$149
approx., kit with one 20V MAX 2.0Ah battery and charger
Check price on Amazon

We may earn a commission. Price and availability on Amazon's site may differ.

Eight inches of cut on a ten-inch bar is the number that actually describes this saw, and B+D prints both, which is more honest than most of the category. The $149 kit is really a battery purchase: 20V POWERCONNECT packs run B+D's drills, trimmers and blowers, so the saw is the cheap excuse to own one. The 2.0Ah pack is the ceiling and 9.1 lb is heavy for this little reach. Owners already on the platform should buy the LCS1020B tool-only at $109.

Best for: Homeowners already on B+D 20V who need a pruning-and-storm-debris saw and will never cut a log.

Specifications

Engine class
30cc class (placed by shipped bar length)
Single-pass cut
about 8 in (bar minus 2)
Chain
3/8" low-profile pitch / .043" gauge, 40 DL
Weight
9.1 lb, manufacturer-listed weight; B+D does not state whether the battery is included
Power type
Battery
Use case
Homeowner
Warranty
2-year limited
Model
LCS1020

Manufacturer figures except the engine class and single-pass cut, which are derived here. What each spec means

  • 8-in actual cut capacity
  • 20V POWERCONNECT platform
  • Tool-only LCS1020B at $109

Where it is strong

  • Cheapest entry to a full-size-handle battery chainsaw from a national brand
  • Shares 20V POWERCONNECT packs with the rest of B+D's cordless line
  • Tool-free chain tensioning
  • Tool-only LCS1020B exists at $109 for owners with packs
  • Sold and warrantied direct by B+D

Where it falls short

  • One 2.0Ah pack is the whole energy budget — plan on a second battery, not a longer session
  • 9.1 lb listed for only 8 inches of cut is a poor weight-to-capability trade
  • Brushed motor, so it gives up runtime and power to brushless saws at the same price
  • B+D does not state whether its weight figure includes the battery
  • No bar options — 10 inches is all it will ever be

Written from the spec sheet and the maker's documentation; owner reports for this model were too thin to summarize.

Compare the Black+Decker 20V MAX 10" Chainsaw Kit

Nearest alternatives

More from Black+Decker
Black+Decker 40V MAX 12" Chainsaw Kit

Black+Decker / Battery

~$199

Black+Decker 40V MAX 12" Chainsaw Kit

30cc class (by bar)
40V
pack
12 in
bar
11.1 lb
as sold

Someone who wants one simple battery saw for limbs and lumber and will not buy other cordless yard tools.

Homeowner
Worx 20V Power Share 10" Chainsaw Kit

Worx / Battery

~$150

Worx 20V Power Share 10" Chainsaw Kit

30cc class (by bar)
20V
pack
10 in
bar
6.2 lb
as sold

Pruning and overhead limb work where saw weight decides how long you last, not how fast you cut.

Homeowner
Sun Joe 24V iONMAX 10" Chainsaw Kit

Sun Joe / Battery

~$130

Sun Joe 24V iONMAX 10" Chainsaw Kit

30cc class (by bar)
24V
pack
10 in
bar
9.3 lb
as sold

Light pruning and storm debris on a budget, for someone who wants a bigger battery rather than a lighter saw.

Homeowner

Sources for this entry