Black+Decker 40V MAX 12" Chainsaw Kit vs Skil PWRCore 40 12" Top Handle Chainsaw Kit

Black+Decker 40V MAX 12" Chainsaw Kit

Black+Decker / Battery

Black+Decker 40V MAX 12" Chainsaw Kit

30cc class (by bar)

~$199

Check price on Amazon

The Skil PWRCore 40 12" Top Handle Chainsaw Kit costs about $19 less.

SpecBlack+Decker 40V MAX 12" Chainsaw KitSkil PWRCore 40 12" Top Handle Chainsaw Kit
Approx. price~$199kit with one 40V MAX 2.0Ah battery and charger~$180kit with 40V 2.0Ah PWRCore battery and 60W charger
Engine class30cc classplaced by shipped bar length30cc classplaced by shipped bar length
Power typeBatteryBattery
Use caseHomeownerArborist
Voltage40 V40 V
Kit battery2 Ah2 Ah
Bar length12 in12 in
Single-pass cutabout 10 inabout 10 in
Bar range12 in12 in
Chain3/8" low-profile pitch / .043" gauge, 45 DL (Oregon R45 equivalent)1/4" pitch / .043" gauge
Weight11.1 lbmanufacturer-listed weight; B+D does not state whether the battery is included7.1 lbwith the included 2.0Ah battery attached (manufacturer spec)
Warranty2-year limited3-year consumer, 5 years with registration within 30 days; 2-year battery

Tinted cells mark the better figure on that row alone: more engine, longer bar, lighter, cheaper. A lighter weight is only a win on the same basis.

What owners like and complain about

Black+Decker 40V MAX 12" Chainsaw Kit

  • Chain and bar interchange with DeWalt DCCS620 and Craftsman CMCCS620, so loops are everywhere
  • 60-plus 4x4 cuts per charge is a published, checkable figure — rare in this price class
  • Automatic bar-and-chain oiling and tool-free tensioning
  • 40V gives it noticeably more bite than B+D's 20V 10-inch saw
  • Complete kit at $199 with no separate battery purchase
  • B+D's 40V MAX line has few other tools, so the pack is close to single-purpose
  • 11.1 lb listed is heavy for a 12-inch bar; several brushless 14-inch saws weigh less
  • Brushed motor and a single 2.0Ah pack cap sustained cutting
  • No tool-only SKU sold on B+D's own site, so owners cannot buy just the saw
  • B+D does not state whether the listed weight includes the battery

Skil PWRCore 40 12" Top Handle Chainsaw Kit

  • 7.1 lb with the battery attached, lighter than most pruning saws here
  • 1/4-inch pitch chain leaves a notably cleaner cut than 3/8 LP
  • Auto-lubricating chain and side-dial tool-free tensioning
  • Cheapest top-handle saw of any brand in this catalog by a wide margin
  • Shares PWRCore 40 packs with Skil's 14- and 18-inch saws
  • Top-handle shape invites one-handed in-tree use this saw is not built or rated for
  • 2.0Ah pack is small; 70 cuts of 4x4 is the whole charge
  • 1/4-inch chain is a narrower aftermarket than 3/8 LP
  • No tool-only SKU is sold on Skil's own store
  • 60W charger is slow even for a 2.0Ah battery