Toro Flex-Force 60V 16" Chainsaw Kit

Toro / Battery / Homeowner

Toro Flex-Force 60V 16" Chainsaw Kit

40cc class (by bar)
60V
2.5 Ah pack
16 in
cuts to about 14 in
18.5 lb
Toro's published figure; Toro does not state whether the battery is included
~$300
approx., kit with one 60V 2.5Ah L135 battery and charger
See it at Toro

Price and availability on Toro's site may differ.

Flex-Force is the reason to buy this saw: a 60V pack shared with Toro's mowers, snow blowers, trimmers and blowers, which is a far deeper platform than Skil's PWRCore 40 or B+D's 40V MAX. The saw itself is a brushless 16-incher with a 0.375-inch, .043-gauge chain and 3-year coverage on both tool and battery — the only entry in this group whose battery warranty matches its tool. Two things count against it. The 2.5Ah pack in the kit is small for 60 volts and a 16-inch bar, so the saw outruns its battery; Toro sells 4.0Ah and larger packs separately and most owners end up there. And Toro's published 18.5 lb is the highest figure of any 16-inch battery saw here, with no statement of what it includes, which makes it impossible to compare honestly against Skil's 8.99 lb bare 18-incher. A tool-only 51850T exists for Flex-Force owners, and that is the version that makes the most sense.

Best for: Owners already running Toro Flex-Force mowers or snow blowers who want a 16-inch saw on the same battery.

Specifications

Engine class
40cc class (placed by shipped bar length)
Single-pass cut
about 14 in (bar minus 2)
Chain
0.375" pitch / .043" gauge
Weight
18.5 lb, Toro's published figure; Toro does not state whether the battery is included
Power type
Battery
Use case
Homeowner
Warranty
3-year tool, 3-year battery
Model
51850

Manufacturer figures except the engine class and single-pass cut, which are derived here. What each spec means

  • Flex-Force pack runs Toro mowers
  • 3-year tool and battery
  • Tool-only 51850T available

Where it is strong

  • 60V Flex-Force packs cross to Toro mowers, snow blowers, trimmers and blowers
  • 3-year battery warranty matches the tool — unique in this group
  • Brushless motor on a genuine 60V platform, not two 20V packs in series
  • Tool-only 51850T lets Flex-Force owners skip a redundant battery
  • Sold through Lowe's, Ace and Tractor Supply, so service and stock are easy to find

Where it falls short

  • The kit's 2.5Ah pack is small for a 16-inch 60V saw; a bigger pack is close to a required upgrade
  • Toro's published 18.5 lb is the highest of any 16-inch battery saw here, and the basis is unstated
  • $300 is the highest kit price of any 16-inch battery saw from a value brand here
  • .043-gauge narrow-kerf chain despite the 60V motor
  • No bar-length options — Toro's 60V handheld line is 16 inches only

Written from the spec sheet and the maker's documentation; owner reports for this model were too thin to summarize.

Compare the Toro Flex-Force 60V 16" Chainsaw Kit

Nearest alternatives

More from Toro
Greenworks 40V 16" Brushless Chainsaw Kit

Greenworks / Battery

~$300

Greenworks 40V 16" Brushless Chainsaw Kit

40cc class (by bar)
40V
pack
16 in
bar
9.28 lb
bare

Suburban owners buying into Greenworks 40V who want a 16-inch bar for storm cleanup without paying 60V prices.

Homeowner
Ryobi 40V HP Brushless 16" Chainsaw Kit

Ryobi / Battery

~$299

Ryobi 40V HP Brushless 16" Chainsaw Kit

40cc class (by bar)
40V
pack
16 in
bar
12.8 lb
as sold

Home Depot shoppers on the Ryobi 40V platform who want a middle-size saw for storm cleanup and light felling.

Homeowner
Greenworks 80V 16" Chainsaw Kit

Greenworks / Battery

~$298

Greenworks 80V 16" Chainsaw Kit

40cc class (by bar)
80V
pack
16 in
bar
9.5 lb
bare

Homeowners who cut in long sessions and want runtime rather than chain speed from a mid-size battery saw.

Homeowner

Sources for this entry